View:

  • Anne Frank: The Book, The Life, The Afterlife

    By Francine Prose

    Our Price: $14.99
    • Format: Paperback
    • ISBN-13: 9780061430800
    • Publisher: Harper Perennial
    • Published: 2010
    In June 1942, Anne Frank received a red-and-white-checked diary for her thirteenth birthday, just weeks before she and her family went into hiding in an Amsterdam attic to escape the occupying Nazis. For two years, with ever-increasing maturity, Anne crafted a memoir that has become one of the most compelling documents of modern history. Francine Prose argues that Anne Frank's diary is as much a work of literary art as it is a historical record. through close rerading, Prose marvels at the teenage Frank's skillfully naturall narrative voice, at her finely tuned dialogue, and ability to turn living people into characters. Notes, Selected Bibliography, Index. 322p.
  • Bomb: The Author Interviews

    By BOMB Magazine

    Our Price: $20.00
    • Format: Oversize Hardcover
    • ISBN-13: 9781616953799
    • Publisher: Soho Press
    • Published: November 2014
    "Drawing on 30 years of BOMB Magazine, this anthology of interviews brings together some of the greatest figures of world literature for a brilliant and unforgettable collection of sharp, insightful and intimate author conversations. Here we have a conversation with Jonathan Franzen, still an unkown author, on the eve of the publication of The Corrections; and one with Roberto BolaƤno, near the end of his life. Lydia Davis and Francine Prose break down the intricacies of Davis's methods; Edwidge Danticat and Junot Diaz discuss the power of Caribbean diasporic fiction. This anthology brings together some of the greatest figures of world literature for a brilliant and unforgettable collection of sharp, insightful and intimate author conversations"--
  • Bullyville

    By Francine Prose

    Our Price: $9.99
    • Format: Paperback
    • ISBN-13: 9780060574994
    • Publisher: Harpercollins
    • Published: August 2008
  • Caravaggio: Painter of Miracles

    By Caravaggio

    Our Price: $14.99
    • Format: Paperback
    • ISBN-13: 9780061768903
    • Publisher: HARPER PERENNIAL
    • Published: February 2010
    (An Eminent Lives Book). Prose's 'life' evokes the genius of this incomparable arftist through a brilliant reading of his paintings. Caravaggio's use of ordinary people, realistically portrayed - street boys, prostitutes, the poor, thepoor, the aged - was a profound and revolutionary innovation that left its mark on generations nof artists. Revered and successful, Caravaggio was protected by powerful patrons, yet he was also a man of the street who couldn't free himself from its brawls and vendettas. Bibliography. Illus., 11 color platge reproductions. 150p.
  • Catskills Country Style

    By Steve Gross

    Our Price: $9.00
    • Format: Hardcover
    • ISBN-13: 9780847824687
    • Publisher: RIZZOLI
    • Published: October 2002
    The Catskills is the favored new retreat for New Yorkers. Only ninety minutes from the city, it's closer than the Hamptons and much more affordable. As a consequence, this once thriving area is having a huge revival as a weekend-vacation place. Catskills Country Style, the first book of its kind on the Catskills and its new style--what might be called urban-country-folk design--showcases this new style in the cottages and cabins of the region. Intriguing historic houses are included as well as a collection of more contemporary homes. Among these is Olana, the 1860s Moorish-style country estate of Frederic Church, the great American landscape artist and leading figure of the Hudson River School of painting. Also included is Pennyroyal Cottage, the 1880s first American woman to have her own design firm. These historic houses are the forerunners of the retreats of many current New York City-based artists, bohemians, designers, and stylists.Current owners of Catskills country style houses are instrumental in shaping trends of today's look. These stylish innovators are creating an aesthetic with a new twist, recycling ideas as well as furniture with an individualistic philosophy that features an eclectic mix of flea market, yard sale, antique and handmade furniture, sometimes peppered with the latest international high-design avant-garde furnishings. This is a book in the tradition of Rizzoli's Charleston Style and Santa Barbara Style, and give us a glimpse into the homes and lifestyles of an influential and fascinating group of people.
  • Elizabeth Murray: Paintings 1999-2003

    By Elizabeth Murray

    Our Price: $20.00
    • Format: Paperback
    • ISBN-13: 9781930743243
    • Publisher: Pace Wildenstein
    • Published: January 2003
  • Fools of Fortune

    By William Trevor

    Our Price: $7.95 - $13.50
    • Format: Paperback
    • ISBN-13: 9780143039624
    • Publisher: Penguin Books
    • Published: March 2006
    Irishman William Quinton falls in love and has a brief love affair with his beautiful English cousin, in a story of love, revenge, and violence set against the turbulent relationship between England and Ireland just after World War I. Reprint.
  • Life Interrupted: The Unfinished Monologue

    By Spalding Gray

    Our Price: $10.00
    • Format: Hardcover
    • ISBN-13: 9781400048618
    • Publisher: CROWN PUBLISHERS, INC.
    • Published: October 2005
    'Life Interrupted' is the incomplete text of Spalding Gray's last artistic effort. Created after the horrific automobile accident that scarred him for life, this text is a brilliant monologue about the accident and the frailty of human life. In Gray's final performance of 'Life Interrupted,' he read two additional pieces: a short story about his son in Central Park and a brief, powerful love letter to the city that he wrote after 9/11. This volume includes those pieces as well as many of the eulogies that were delivered by his friends and family at memorial services held at Lincoln Center and in Sag Harbor.
  • My New American Life: A Novel

    By Francine Prose

    Our Price: $9.00
    • Format: Hardcover
    • ISBN-13: 9780061713767
    • Publisher: Harper
    • Published: May 2011
    While working for an idealistic college professor, 26-year old Lula, an Albanian trying to make a better life for herself in America, finds her life taking a complicated turn when her Albanian 'brothers' return, in this powerful novel set in the aftermath of 9/11. 306p.
  • Nine and a Half Weeks

    By Elizabeth McNeill

    Our Price: $6.50
    • Format: Paperback
    • ISBN-13: 9780060746391
    • Publisher: Perennial
    • Published: January 2005
    First published in 1978, a new edition of the powerful, erotic memoir chronicles a brief love affair that evolved into a dangerous and intense sado-masochistic experience that played out over a series of ever more dangerous and elaborate patterns of domination and humiliation in which the woman relinquished all control over her body and mind. Reprint. 15,000 first printing.
  • Oxford American Writer's Thesaurus

    By David Auburn

    Our Price: $20.00
    • Format: Hardcover
    • ISBN-13: 9780195170764
    • Publisher: Oxford University Press
    • Published: October 2004
    Every writer (and the writer in everyone) needs this reference. This exceptional thesaurus contains more than 300,000 synonyms and over 10,000 antonyms - a treasure-trove of enticing words. Arranged alphabetically for easy reference, & including rare, literary, & slang words, together with a comprehensive selection of general vocabulary, this thesaurus is the perfect tool to improve, enhance, update, polish, or refine your writing.
  • Peggy Guggenheim: The Shock of the Modern

    By Peggy Guggenheim

    Our Price: $8.00
    • Format: Paperback
    • ISBN-13: 9780300224290
    • Publisher: Yale University Press
    • Published: November 2016
  • Reading Like a Writer: A Guide for People Who Love Books and for Those Who Want to Write Them

    By Francine Prose

    Our Price: $23.99
    • Format: Hardcover
    • ISBN-13: 9780060777043
    • Publisher: HarperCollins
    • Published: August 2006
    Long before creative writing programs and graduate degrees taught the finer points in composing fiction, writers looked to the enduring works of authors such as Dostoyevsky, Flaubert, and Kafka to supply the raw material out of which literature is crafted. In 'Reading Like a Writer,' Francine Prose discusses a handful of classics and how close reading of these works can offer insight into the tools and the tricks of the masters. Marvel at the serpentine sentences of Philip Roth, the masterful use of dialogue to advance plot by John Le Carre, and how enduring literature can inspire readers to look at the world with a fresh eye. 273p.
  • Robert Mangold: Column Paintings

    By Robert Mangold

    Our Price: $10.00
    • Format: Oversize Paperback
    • ISBN-13: 9781930743403
    • Publisher: Pace Wilderstein
    • Published: January 2004
  • The Turning

    By Francine Prose

    Our Price: $17.99
    • Format: Hardcover
    • ISBN-13: 9780061999666
    • Publisher: HarperTeen
    • Published: September 2012

View: