View:

  • After

    By Francine Prose

    Our Price: $9.99
    • Format: Paperback
    • ISBN-13: 9780060080839
    • Publisher: HARPER TEMPEST
    • Published: May 2004
    In the aftermath of a nearby school shooting, a grief and crisis counselor takes over Central High School and enacts increasingly harsh measures to control students, while those who do not comply disappear. 330p. (Juvenile).
  • Anne Frank: The Book, The Life, The Afterlife

    By Francine Prose

    Our Price: $7.50
    • Format: Paperback
    • ISBN-13: 9780061430800
    • Publisher: Harper Perennial
    • Published: 2010
    In June 1942, Anne Frank received a red-and-white-checked diary for her thirteenth birthday, just weeks before she and her family went into hiding in an Amsterdam attic to escape the occupying Nazis. For two years, with ever-increasing maturity, Anne crafted a memoir that has become one of the most compelling documents of modern history. Francine Prose argues that Anne Frank's diary is as much a work of literary art as it is a historical record. through close rerading, Prose marvels at the teenage Frank's skillfully naturall narrative voice, at her finely tuned dialogue, and ability to turn living people into characters. Notes, Selected Bibliography, Index. 322p.
  • Blue Angel

    By Francine Prose

    Our Price: $7.50
    • Format: Hardcover
    • ISBN-13: 9780060195410
    • Publisher: HarperCollinsPublishers
    • Published: 2000
    The novel does for creative writing programs what Upton Sinclair's The Jungle did for the meat-packing industry, i.e., 'the road to hell is paved with good intentions.' 314p.
  • Catskills Country Style

    By Steve Gross

    Our Price: $9.00
    • Format: Hardcover
    • ISBN-13: 9780847824687
    • Publisher: RIZZOLI
    • Published: October 2002
    The Catskills is the favored new retreat for New Yorkers. Only ninety minutes from the city, it's closer than the Hamptons and much more affordable. As a consequence, this once thriving area is having a huge revival as a weekend-vacation place. Catskills Country Style, the first book of its kind on the Catskills and its new style--what might be called urban-country-folk design--showcases this new style in the cottages and cabins of the region. Intriguing historic houses are included as well as a collection of more contemporary homes. Among these is Olana, the 1860s Moorish-style country estate of Frederic Church, the great American landscape artist and leading figure of the Hudson River School of painting. Also included is Pennyroyal Cottage, the 1880s first American woman to have her own design firm. These historic houses are the forerunners of the retreats of many current New York City-based artists, bohemians, designers, and stylists.Current owners of Catskills country style houses are instrumental in shaping trends of today's look. These stylish innovators are creating an aesthetic with a new twist, recycling ideas as well as furniture with an individualistic philosophy that features an eclectic mix of flea market, yard sale, antique and handmade furniture, sometimes peppered with the latest international high-design avant-garde furnishings. This is a book in the tradition of Rizzoli's Charleston Style and Santa Barbara Style, and give us a glimpse into the homes and lifestyles of an influential and fascinating group of people.
  • Elizabeth Murray: Paintings 1999-2003

    By Elizabeth Murray

    Our Price: $20.00
    • Format: Paperback
    • ISBN-13: 9781930743243
    • Publisher: Pace Wildenstein
    • Published: January 2003
  • Fools of Fortune

    By William Trevor

    Our Price: $7.95 - $13.50
    • Format: Paperback
    • ISBN-13: 9780143039624
    • Publisher: Penguin Books
    • Published: March 2006
    Irishman William Quinton falls in love and has a brief love affair with his beautiful English cousin, in a story of love, revenge, and violence set against the turbulent relationship between England and Ireland just after World War I. Reprint.
  • Lovers at the Chameleon Club, Paris 1932

    By Francine Prose

    Our Price: $9.00
    • Format: Hardcover
    • ISBN-13: 9780061713781
    • Publisher: Harper
    • Published: April 2014
    At the Chameleon club in Paris, Lou Villars, a star athlete and scandalous cross-dressing lesbian, finds refuge among its patrons, and as time passes, she experiences a transformation, sparked by tragic events, that warps her earnest desire for love and approval into something dangerous. 100,000 first printing.
  • My New American Life: A Novel

    By Francine Prose

    Our Price: $9.00
    • Format: Hardcover
    • ISBN-13: 9780061713767
    • Publisher: Harper
    • Published: May 2011
    While working for an idealistic college professor, 26-year old Lula, an Albanian trying to make a better life for herself in America, finds her life taking a complicated turn when her Albanian 'brothers' return, in this powerful novel set in the aftermath of 9/11. 306p.
  • Oxford American Writer's Thesaurus

    By David Auburn

    Our Price: $20.00
    • Format: Hardcover
    • ISBN-13: 9780195170764
    • Publisher: Oxford University Press
    • Published: October 2004
    Every writer (and the writer in everyone) needs this reference. This exceptional thesaurus contains more than 300,000 synonyms and over 10,000 antonyms - a treasure-trove of enticing words. Arranged alphabetically for easy reference, & including rare, literary, & slang words, together with a comprehensive selection of general vocabulary, this thesaurus is the perfect tool to improve, enhance, update, polish, or refine your writing.
  • Peaceable Kingdom: Stories

    By Francine Prose

    Our Price: $5.95
    • Format: Paperback
    • ISBN-13: 9780060754044
    • Publisher: Harper Perennial
    • Published: June 2005
    In this stellar short-story collection of eleven works, Francine Prose demonstrates how the seemingly tranquil surface of ordinary happiness barely conceals the darker, more mysterious and brutal truths about this deceptively peaceful kingdom. 232p.
  • Peggy Guggenheim: The Shock of the Modern

    By Peggy Guggenheim

    Our Price: $8.00
    • Format: Paperback
    • ISBN-13: 9780300224290
    • Publisher: Yale University Press
    • Published: November 2016
  • Reading Like a Writer: A Guide for People Who Love Books and for Those Who Want to Write Them

    By Francine Prose

    Our Price: $23.99
    • Format: Hardcover
    • ISBN-13: 9780060777043
    • Publisher: HarperCollins
    • Published: August 2006
    Long before creative writing programs and graduate degrees taught the finer points in composing fiction, writers looked to the enduring works of authors such as Dostoyevsky, Flaubert, and Kafka to supply the raw material out of which literature is crafted. In 'Reading Like a Writer,' Francine Prose discusses a handful of classics and how close reading of these works can offer insight into the tools and the tricks of the masters. Marvel at the serpentine sentences of Philip Roth, the masterful use of dialogue to advance plot by John Le Carre, and how enduring literature can inspire readers to look at the world with a fresh eye. 273p.
  • Robert Mangold: Column Paintings

    By Robert Mangold

    Our Price: $10.00
    • Format: Oversize Paperback
    • ISBN-13: 9781930743403
    • Publisher: Pace Wilderstein
    • Published: January 2004
  • The Lives of the Muses: Nine Women and the Artists They Inspired

    By Francine Prose

    Our Price: $6.95
    • Format: Paperback
    • ISBN-13: 9781908526434
    • Publisher: Union Books
    • Published: September 2013
    To be a muse to a celebrated artist is surely one of the most flattering roles a person can have. But what is the life of a muse really like?
  • Word Court: Wherein verbal virtue is rewarded, crimes against the language are punished, and poetic justice is done

    By Barbara Wallraff

    Our Price: $7.50
    • Format: Hardcover
    • ISBN-13: 9780151003815
    • Publisher: HARCOURT BRACE JOVANOVICH INC
    • Published: January 2000
    Advice on English usage by the 'Atlantic Monthly' editor.

View: