View:

  • A Changed Man

    By Francine Prose

    Our Price: $20.00
    • Format: Hardcover
    • ISBN-13: 9789111592215
    • Publisher: HarperCollins
    • Published: 2005
    (2005). 8vo. 1st edition. SIGNED by Prose. Light bumping to spine ends, slightly affecting d.j. Mild soiling to dust jacket, with 'Signed Copy' sticker to front panel. Small sticker covering ISBN on rear panel of d.j. Contents clean. VG/VG.
  • A House and Its Head

    By Ivy Compton-Burnett

    Our Price: $17.95
    • Format: Paperback
    • ISBN-13: 9780940322646
    • Publisher: Penguin
    • Published: 1986
    A radical thinker, one of the rare modern heretics, said Mary McCarthy of Ivy Compton-Burnett, in whose austere, savage, and bitingly funny novels anything can happen and no one will ever escape. The long, endlessly surprising conversational duels at the center of Compton-Burnett's works are confrontations between the unspoken and the unspeakable, and in them the dynamics of power and desire are dramatized as nowhere else. New York Review Books is reissuing two of the finest novels of this singular modern genius—works that look forward to the blacky comic inventions of Muriel Spark as much as they do back to the drawing rooms of Jane Austen. A House and Its Head is Ivy Compton-Burnett's subversive look at the politics of family life, and perhaps the most unsparing of her novels. No sooner has Duncan Edgeworth's wife died than he takes a new, much younger bride whose willful ways provoke a series of transgressions that begins with adultery and ends, much to everyone's relief, in murder.
  • Anne Frank: The Book, The Life, The Afterlife

    By Francine Prose

    Our Price: $7.50
    • Format: Paperback
    • ISBN-13: 9780061430800
    • Publisher: Harper Perennial
    • Published: 2010
    In June 1942, Anne Frank received a red-and-white-checked diary for her thirteenth birthday, just weeks before she and her family went into hiding in an Amsterdam attic to escape the occupying Nazis. For two years, with ever-increasing maturity, Anne crafted a memoir that has become one of the most compelling documents of modern history. Francine Prose argues that Anne Frank's diary is as much a work of literary art as it is a historical record. through close rerading, Prose marvels at the teenage Frank's skillfully naturall narrative voice, at her finely tuned dialogue, and ability to turn living people into characters. Notes, Selected Bibliography, Index. 322p.
  • Bigfoot Dreams

    By Francine Prose

    Our Price: $6.00
    • Format: Paperback
    • ISBN-13: 9780805048605
    • Publisher: Henry Holt and Company
    • Published: January 1998
  • Blue Angel

    By Francine Prose

    Our Price: $7.50
    • Format: Hardcover
    • ISBN-13: 9780060195410
    • Publisher: HarperCollinsPublishers
    • Published: 2000
    The novel does for creative writing programs what Upton Sinclair's The Jungle did for the meat-packing industry, i.e., 'the road to hell is paved with good intentions.' 314p.
  • Catskills Country Style

    By Steve Gross

    Our Price: $9.00
    • Format: Hardcover
    • ISBN-13: 9780847824687
    • Publisher: RIZZOLI
    • Published: October 2002
    The Catskills is the favored new retreat for New Yorkers. Only ninety minutes from the city, it's closer than the Hamptons and much more affordable. As a consequence, this once thriving area is having a huge revival as a weekend-vacation place. Catskills Country Style, the first book of its kind on the Catskills and its new style--what might be called urban-country-folk design--showcases this new style in the cottages and cabins of the region. Intriguing historic houses are included as well as a collection of more contemporary homes. Among these is Olana, the 1860s Moorish-style country estate of Frederic Church, the great American landscape artist and leading figure of the Hudson River School of painting. Also included is Pennyroyal Cottage, the 1880s first American woman to have her own design firm. These historic houses are the forerunners of the retreats of many current New York City-based artists, bohemians, designers, and stylists.Current owners of Catskills country style houses are instrumental in shaping trends of today's look. These stylish innovators are creating an aesthetic with a new twist, recycling ideas as well as furniture with an individualistic philosophy that features an eclectic mix of flea market, yard sale, antique and handmade furniture, sometimes peppered with the latest international high-design avant-garde furnishings. This is a book in the tradition of Rizzoli's Charleston Style and Santa Barbara Style, and give us a glimpse into the homes and lifestyles of an influential and fascinating group of people.
  • Cousin Bette

    By Honoré de Balzac

    Our Price: $7.00
    • Format: Hardcover
    • ISBN-13: 9780375759079
    • Publisher: The Modern Library
    • Published: February 2002
    Honore de Balzac
  • Elizabeth Murray: Paintings 1999-2003

    By Elizabeth Murray

    Our Price: $20.00
    • Format: Paperback
    • ISBN-13: 9781930743243
    • Publisher: Pace Wildenstein
    • Published: January 2003
  • Fools of Fortune

    By William Trevor

    Our Price: $13.50
    • Format: Paperback
    • ISBN-13: 9780143039624
    • Publisher: Penguin Books
    • Published: March 2006
    Irishman William Quinton falls in love and has a brief love affair with his beautiful English cousin, in a story of love, revenge, and violence set against the turbulent relationship between England and Ireland just after World War I. Reprint.
  • Gluttony: The Seven Deadly Sins

    By Francine Prose

    Our Price: $4.95
    • Format: Paperback
    • ISBN-13: 9780195312058
    • Publisher: Oxford University Press
    • Published: August 2006
    (Seven Deadly Sins series). Novelist and critic Francine Prose serves up a marvelous banquet of witty and engaging observations on this most delicious of deadly sins. She traces how our negative notions of gluttony have evolved along with our ideas about salvation and damnation, health and illness, life and death. At the same time, she reminds us that it is also an affirmation of pleasure and passion. Notes, Bibliography, Index. 108p.
  • Hungry Hearts

    By Francine Prose

    Our Price: $7.50
    • Format: Hardcover
    • ISBN-13: 9780394527673
    • Publisher: Pantheon Books
    • Published: January 1983
    Yiddish actress Dinah Rappoport's eventful performance in "The Dybbuk," the classic play of thwarted love and demonic possession has a galvanizing effect on players and audience alike and unexpected resonance in Dinah's life
  • Life Interrupted: The Unfinished Monologue

    By Spalding Gray

    Our Price: $10.00
    • Format: Hardcover
    • ISBN-13: 9781400048618
    • Publisher: CROWN PUBLISHERS, INC.
    • Published: October 2005
    'Life Interrupted' is the incomplete text of Spalding Gray's last artistic effort. Created after the horrific automobile accident that scarred him for life, this text is a brilliant monologue about the accident and the frailty of human life. In Gray's final performance of 'Life Interrupted,' he read two additional pieces: a short story about his son in Central Park and a brief, powerful love letter to the city that he wrote after 9/11. This volume includes those pieces as well as many of the eulogies that were delivered by his friends and family at memorial services held at Lincoln Center and in Sag Harbor.
  • Lovers at the Chameleon Club, Paris 1932

    By Francine Prose

    Our Price: $9.00
    • Format: Hardcover
    • ISBN-13: 9780061713781
    • Publisher: Harper
    • Published: April 2014
    At the Chameleon club in Paris, Lou Villars, a star athlete and scandalous cross-dressing lesbian, finds refuge among its patrons, and as time passes, she experiences a transformation, sparked by tragic events, that warps her earnest desire for love and approval into something dangerous. 100,000 first printing.
  • My New American Life: A Novel

    By Francine Prose

    Our Price: $9.00
    • Format: Hardcover
    • ISBN-13: 9780061713767
    • Publisher: Harper
    • Published: May 2011
    While working for an idealistic college professor, 26-year old Lula, an Albanian trying to make a better life for herself in America, finds her life taking a complicated turn when her Albanian 'brothers' return, in this powerful novel set in the aftermath of 9/11. 306p.
  • Robert Mangold: Column Paintings

    By Robert Mangold

    Our Price: $10.00
    • Format: Oversize Paperback
    • ISBN-13: 9781930743403
    • Publisher: Pace Wilderstein
    • Published: January 2004

View: