View:

  • Decline of the Lawrence Welk Empire

    By Poe Ballantine

    Our Price: $15.95
    • Format: Paperback
    • ISBN-13: 9780976631118
    • Publisher: HAWTHORN BOOKS, INC.
    • Published: May 2006
    In this follow-up to God Clobbers Us All, Edgar Donahoe is back for another misguided adventure. When Edgar is expelled from college, he accepts his pal Mountain Moses’ offer to come to a Caribbean island. Once there, Edgar cooks at the local tourist resort and falls in love with Mountain’s girl, Kate. Embroiled in a dangerous love triangle and stalked by a mysterious local, he turns to medicine man Cinnamon Jim for help ? but even the supernatural may not be able to save him now. Ballantine's quirky humor and captivating prose have drawn comparison to Kerouac and Bukowski, but his voice remains inimitably his own in this raucous, riveting adventure.
  • God Clobbers Us All

    By Poe Ballantine

    Our Price: $15.95
    • ISBN-13: 9780971691544
    • Publisher: Hawthorne Books
    SET AGAINST THE DECAYING HALLS of a San Diego rest home in the 1970s, God Clobbers Us All is the shimmering, hysterical, and melancholy account of eighteen-year-old surfer-boy orderly, Edgar Donahoe, and his struggles with romance, death, friendship, and an ill-advised affair with the wife of a maladjusted war veteran. All of Edgar's problems become mundane, however, when he and his lesbian Blackfoot nurse's aide best friend become responsible for the disappearance of their fellow worker after an LSD party gone awry. Ballantine's own brand of delicious quirkiness and storytelling is smooth and compelling, and God Clobbers Us All is guaranteed to satisfy Ballantine fans as well as convert those lucky enough to be discovering his work for the first time.
  • Love and Terror on the Howling Plains of Nowhere: A Memoir

    By Poe Ballantine

    Our Price: $16.95
    • Format: Paperback
    • ISBN-13: 9780983477549
    • Publisher: Hawthorne Books
    • Published: September 2013
    Fans of Truman Capote's In Cold Blood and John Berendt's Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil will embrace Poe Ballantine's Love and Terror on the Howling Plains of Nowhere.For well over twenty years, Poe Ballantine traveled America, taking odd jobs, living in small rooms, and wondering the big whys. At age 46, he finally settled with his Mexican immigrant wife in Chadron, Nebraska, where they had a son who was red-flagged as autistic. Poe published four books about his experiences as a wanderer and his observations of America. But one day in 2006, his neighbor, Steven Haataja, a math professor from the local state college disappeared. Ninety five days later, the professor was found bound to a tree, burned to death in the hills behind the campus where he had taught. No one, law enforcement included, understood the circumstances. Poe had never contemplated writing mystery or true crime, but since he knew all the players, the suspects, the sheriff, the police involved, he and his kindergarten son set out to find out what might have happened.

View: