Liz DT

Main Floor Manager

Liz lives in Queens with a nice human and three terrible cats.

Liz DT's Reviews

Pond

by: Claire-Louise Bennett

A novel? Short stories? Poetry? Vignettes? Claire-Louise Bennett’s debut is the best book i’ve read in 2016, even though I can’t quite tell you what it is. A nice fit for fans of Lydia Davis and Nicholson Baker. A lovely book to read outdoors, alone.

View In Store

Swamplandia!

by: Karen Russell

Strange, sad and lovely. This is a story about love, grief and the end of childhood. Featuring gators, ghost and more! a coming of age tale tinged with magical realism, this is an engrossing debut novel.

View In Store

View:

  • Gaudy Night: A Lord Peter Wimsey Mystery with Harriet Vane

    By Dorothy L. Sayers

    Our Price: $14.99
    • Format: Paperback
    • ISBN-13: 9780062196538
    • Publisher: Bourbon Street Books
    • Published: October 2012
  • Plainsong

    By Kent Haruf

    Our Price: $14.40
    • Format: Paperback
    • ISBN-13: 9780375705854
    • Publisher: Vintage Contemporaries
    • Published: August 2000
    National Book Award Finalist. Interwoven stories of a pregnant high school girl, a lonely teacher, a pair of boys abandoned by their mother, and a couple of crusty bachelor farmers. 320p. Pap.
  • Swamplandia!

    By Karen Russell

    Our Price: $12.50
    • Format: Hardcover
    • ISBN-13: 9780307263995
    • Publisher: Alfred A. Knopf
    • Published: February 2011
    From the author of the everywhere-heralded short-story collection St. Lucy's Home for Girls Raised by Wolves, comes this emphatically original debut novel that takes readers back to the swamps of the Florida Everglades. Now, confound your imagination with the likes of one Ava Bigtree, the novel's unforgettable young heroine. The Bigtree alligator-wrestling dynasty is in decline, and Swamplandia!, their island home and gator-wrestling theme park, formerly #1 in the region, is swiftly being encroached upon by a fearsome and sophisticated competitor called the World of Darkness. Ava's mother, the park's indomitable headliner, has just died; her sister, Ossie, has fallen in love with a spooky character known as the Dredgman, who may or may not be an actual ghost; and her brilliant big brother, Kiwi, who dreams of becoming a scholar, has just defected to the World of Darkness in a last-ditch effort to keep the family business from going under. Ava's father, affectionately known as Chief Bigtree, is AWOL, and that leaves Ava, a resourceful but terrified thirteen, to manage ninety-eight gators and the vast , inscrutable landscape of her own grief. Got some time? 316p.
  • The Great Fire

    By Shirley Hazzard

    Our Price: $8.50
    • Format: Paperback
    • ISBN-13: 9780312423582
    • Publisher: Picador
    • Published: July 2004
    Winner of the 2003 National Book Award for Fiction. Set largely in Asia in 1947-48, the novel tells the story - in its 'dreamy solemnity and vague exactitudes' - of tow men who've maintained a long-distance friendship that haunts them both, and which has swallowed one of them whole. Now in their thirties, with their youth behind them, and their world in ruins, both must invent the future and retrieve a private humanity. 326p.
  • Trouble Is My Business

    By Raymond Chandler

    Our Price: $13.45
    • Format: Paperback
    • ISBN-13: 9780394757643
    • Publisher: Vintage Crime / Black Lizard
    • Published: 1988
    In the four long stories in this collection - Trouble Is My Business, Finger Man, Goldfish, Red Wind - Phlip Marlowe is hired to protect a rich old guy from a gold digger, runs afoul of crooked politicos, gets a line on some stolen jewels with a reward attachwed, and stumbles across a murder victim who may be an extortionist. 214p.

View: