Abbi R

Visual Merchandise

Simple instructions clearly written, this no nonsense explanation of how King writes is as revealing of the man as it is of his craft. You could disagree with everything he says and still be inspired by his passion. Plus, if you’re really paying attention, you could learn telepathy….

Abbi R's Picks
Cale H

Main Floor Manager

Jesse Ball's latest novel is the best book I've read this year. I can't remember a book that was completely beautiful and tender, while remaining extremely raw and vital. Anyone who's ever felt confused when their best doesn't pay off will find this book chockablock with sardonic and wry insight covering the softer bits below. It's hard to describe how this book made me feel. But however I was feeling, I felt it all during this exceptional story. A must read.

Cale H's Picks
Matthew G

Callback Staff

This memoir recounts the years (beginning in his late teens) in which Samuel R. Delany, the acclaimed science fiction writer, essayist, and gay rights activist, first started to write and publish science fiction and lead an actively gay lifestyle (while in an open, interracial marriage with the white poet Marilyn Hacker, who was a fellow student and fellow prodigy at The Bronx High School of Science). Full of great anecdotes, cameos by notable figures of the time such as Bob Dylan and W.H. Auden, and perceptive reflections on art, memory, and a host of other subjects, The Motion of Light in Water is also a fascinating look back at a New York of another time, and an immensely pleasurable read.

Matthew G's Picks
Whitney H

Communications Director

Nadja holds her own against her talented father with this emotionally vivid, achingly truthful memoir. She unboxes the complex relationship between mother and daughter -- and realizes that in order to understand her own mother, she has to recognize that her mother was a daughter once too. Read this if sometimes you know rationally your mother is a human but some of her well-meaning intentions from the past still hurt, even as an adult. Because as Nadja guides you through her own intimate family, you'll start unfolding your own.

Whitney H's Picks
Miguel S

Visual Merchandise

A powerful meditation on love and marriage that you can/will read in one sitting. Don’t let it’s quickness dissuade you. It will stay with you. Offill is a poetic and beautiful voice.

Miguel S's Picks
Liz DT

Main Floor Manager

A novel? Short stories? Poetry? Vignettes? Claire-Louise Bennett’s debut is the best book i’ve read in 2016, even though I can’t quite tell you what it is. A nice fit for fans of Lydia Davis and Nicholson Baker. A lovely book to read outdoors, alone.

Liz DT's Picks
David D

Review/Club Monaco Staff

In his second book The Statesman and The Storyteller, Mark Zwonitzer (producer, director, stand-up guy) creates and engaging world rich with detail. His admiration for both Twain and Hay is infectious, while still allowing the reader the head space to form their own opinion on two American icons. An A+ pick up for any non-fiction reader.

David D's Picks
Will A

Main Floor

There are so many theatre textbooks out there, but none are as engaging, funny and relevant as this one. With an intimate understanding of how the form works, Viertel covers American musicals from Show Boat to Hamilton and assuages any fear that the Broadway musical is leaving us any time soon. Whether you're a performer, a writer or an audience member, this book is indispensible

Will A's Picks