View:

  • A Wrinkle in Time (Time Quintet: Book 1)

    By Madeleine L'Engle

    Our Price: $3.50 - $6.99
    • Format: Paperback
    • ISBN-13: 9780312367541
    • Publisher: Farrar, Straus & Giroux
    • Published: May 2007
    Meg Murry and her friends become involved with unearthly strangers and a search for Meg's father, who has disappeared while engaged in secret work for the government, in a re-release of the classic story. A Newbery Medal Book. Simultaneous. 500,000 first printing.
  • After Delores

    By Sarah Schulman

    Our Price: $14.35
    • Format: Paperback
    • ISBN-13: 9781551525150
    • Publisher: Arsenal Pulp Press
    • Published: September 2013
    A new edition of Sarah Schulman’s 1988 novel, about a no-nonsense coffee-shop waitress who is nursing a broken heart after her girlfriend Dolores leaves her. Her attempts to find love again are funny, sexy, and ultimately even violent. The novel is a fast-paced, electrifying chronicle of the Lower East Side’s lesbian subculture in the 1980s.
  • All About Love: New Visions

    By Bell Hooks

    Our Price: $13.49
    • Format: Paperback
    • ISBN-13: 9780060959470
    • Publisher: Perennial
    • Published: January 2001
    In thirteen concise chapters, Bell Hooks examines her own search for emotional connection and society's failure to provide a model for learning to love. Razing the cultural paradigm that the ideal love is infused with sex and desire, she provides a new path to love that is sacred, redemptive, and healing for individuals and for a nation. 239p.
  • Americanah

    By Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie

    Our Price: $8.00 - $14.40
    • Format: Paperback
    • ISBN-13: 9780307455925
    • Publisher: Anchor Books
    • Published: March 2014
    Separated by differing ambitions after falling in love in occupied Nigeria, beautiful Ifemelu experiences triumph and defeat in America, while Obinze endures an undocumented status in London until the pair is reunited in their homeland fifteen years later.
  • Angela Davis: An Autobiography

    By Angela Yvonne Davis

    Our Price: $14.40
    • Format: Paperback
    • ISBN-13: 9780717806676
    • Publisher: International Publishers
    • Published: March 1989
    The political activist reflects upon the people and incidents that have influenced her life and commitment to global liberation of the oppressed
  • Are You My Mother? A Comic Drama

    By Alison Bechdel

    Our Price: $15.95
    • Format: Paperback
    • ISBN-13: 9780544002234
    • Publisher: Mariner Books
    • Published: April 2013
    A graphic novel follow-up to Fun Home depicts the author's mother as a voracious reader, music lover and passionate amateur actress who quietly suffers as the wife of a closeted gay artist and withdraws from her young daughter. Reprint. (This book was featured in a previous issue of Forecast.)
  • Black Girl Magic

    By Mahogany L. Browne

    Our Price: $8.50 - $16.99
    • Format: Hardcover
    • ISBN-13: 9781250173720
    • Publisher: Roaring Brook Press
    • Published: January 2018
    In response to the destructive ideas of how Black girls should look and act, an internationally recognized poet challenges the conditioning of society by crafting an anthem of strength and magic for all beautiful Black girls, taking readers of all ages on a journey from girlhood to womanhood. Full color
  • Children of Blood and Bone: The Orisha Legacy (Children of Orisha: Book 1)

    By Tomi Adeyemi

    Our Price: $18.99
    • Format: Hardcover
    • ISBN-13: 9781250170972
    • Publisher: Henry Holt and Co. (BYR)
    • Published: March 2018
    Adeyemi conjures a stunning world of dark magic and danger in her West African-inspired fantasy debut--the launch volume of her Legacy of Orisha series--ideal for fans of Leigh Bardugo and Sabaa Tahir.baa Tahir
  • Fun Home: A Family Tragicomic

    By Alison Bechdel

    Our Price: $8.00 - $15.99
    • Format: Paperback
    • ISBN-13: 9780618871711
    • Publisher: Houghton Mifflin
    • Published: June 2007
    A memoir done in the form of a graphic novel by a cult favorite comic artist offers a darkly funny family portrait that details her relationship with her father--a funeral home director, high school English teacher, and closeted homosexual.
  • Garments Against Women

    By Anne Boyer

    Our Price: $18.00
    • Format: Paperback
    • ISBN-13: 9781934103593
    • Publisher: Ahsahta Press
    • Published: March 2015
    Poetry. Literary Nonfiction. Women's Studies. GARMENTS AGAINST WOMEN is a book of mostly lyric prose about the conditions that make literature almost impossible. It holds a life story without a life, a lie spread across low-rent apartment complexes, dreamscapes, and information networks, tangled in chronology, landing in a heap of the future impossible. Available forms—like garments and literature—are made of the materials of history, of the hours of women's and children's lives, but they are mostly inadequate to the dimension, motion, and irregularity of what they contain. It's a book about seeking to find the forms in which to think the thoughts necessary to survival, then about seeking to find the forms necessary to survive survival and survival's requisite thoughts.
  • Good Night Stories for Rebel Girls

    By Elena Favilli

    Our Price: $35.00
    • Format: Hardcover
    • ISBN-13: 9780997895810
    • Publisher: Timbuktu Labs, Inc.
    • Published: January 2016
    A children's book packed with 100 bedtime stories about the life of 100 extraordinary women from the past and the present, illustrated by 60 female artists from all over the world.
  • Heroines

    By Kate Zambreno

    Our Price: $16.15
    • Format: Paperback
    • ISBN-13: 9781584351146
    • Publisher: Semiotext(e)
    • Published: October 2012
    I am beginning to realize that taking the self out of our essays is a form ofrepression. Taking the self out feels like obeying a gag order--pretending an objectivity wherethere is nothing objective about the experience of confronting and engaging with and swooning overliterature."--from HeroinesOn the last day of December,2009 Kate Zambreno began a blog called Frances Farmer Is My Sister, arising fromher obsession with the female modernists and her recent transplantation to Akron, Ohio, where herhusband held a university job. Widely reposted, Zambreno's blog became an outlet for her highlyinformed and passionate rants about the fates of the modernist "wives and mistresses." Inher blog entries, Zambreno reclaimed the traditionally pathologized biographies of Vivienne Eliot,Jane Bowles, Jean Rhys, and Zelda Fitzgerald: writers and artists themselves who served as malewriters' muses only to end their lives silenced, erased, and institutionalized. Over the course oftwo years, Frances Farmer Is My Sister helped create a community where today's"toxic girls" could devise a new feminist discourse, writing in the margins and developingan alternative canon.In Heroines, Zambreno extends the polemicbegun on her blog into a dazzling, original work of literary scholarship. Combing theories that havedictated what literature should be and who is allowed to write it--from T. S. Eliot's New Criticismto the writings of such mid-century intellectuals as Elizabeth Hardwick and Mary McCarthy to theoccasional "girl-on-girl crime" of the Second Wave of feminism--she traces the genesis ofa cultural template that consistently exiles female experience to the realm of the"minor," and diagnoses women for transgressing social bounds. "ANXIETY: When sheexperiences it, it's pathological," writes Zambreno. "When he does, it'sexistential." By advancing the Girl-As-Philosopher, Zambreno reinvents feminism for hergeneration while providing a model for a newly subjectivized criticism.
  • How the Garcia Girls Lost Their Accents

    By Julia Alvarez

    Our Price: $13.45
    • Format: Paperback
    • ISBN-13: 9781565129757
    • Publisher: Algonquin Books of Chapel Hill
    • Published: 2010
    Forced to flee their native Caribbean island after an attempted coup, the Garcias--Carlos, Laura, and their four daughters--must learn a new way of life in the Bronx, while trying to cling to the old ways that they loved.
  • How We Get Free: Black Feminism and the Combahee River Collective

    By Keeanga-Yamahtta Taylor

    Our Price: $14.35
    • Format: Paperback
    • ISBN-13: 9781608468553
    • Publisher: Haymarket Books
    • Published: November 2017
    Pre-ordering does not guarantee a signed copy or grant event admission.
  • I Dissent: Ruth Bader Ginsburg Makes Her Mark

    By Ruth Bader Ginsburg

    Our Price: $9.00 - $18.99
    • Format: Oversize Hardcover
    • ISBN-13: 9781481465595
    • Publisher: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers
    • Published: September 2016

View: