The Wapshot Chronicle

By ,

The Wapshot Chronicle Fiction
Our Price: $0.00
(You Save: $14.99 )

Sorry, this item is currently unavailable. You can still add it to your wishlist below. We will notify you via email when it is back in stock. Please note that prices are subject to change.

Product Description

National Book Award Winner. First published in 1957. Based in part on Cheever's adolescence in New England, the novel follows the destinies of the impecunious and wildly eccentric Wapshots of St. Botolphs, a quintessential Massachusetts fishing village. Here are the stories of Captain Leander Wapshot, venerable sea dog and would-be-suicide; of his licentiouis older son, Moses; and of Moses' adoring and errant younger brother, Coverly. Tragic and funny, ribald and splendidly picaresque, the novel is a family narrative in the tradition of Trollope, Dickens, and Henry James. 349p.

Editorial Reviews

Released in 1957 and 1964, respectively, Cheever's stories of a New England family drift in and out of print every so often. The National Book Award-winning Chronicle and Scandal sequel will find an avid audience. Copyright 2003 Reed Business Information.

Customer Reviews

No customers have written a review yet, write the first!