View:

  • A More Perfect Heaven: How Copernicus Revolutionised the Cosmos

    By Dava Sobel

    Our Price: $7.95
    • Format: Paperback
    • ISBN-13: 9781408822388
    • Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
    • Published: October 2012
  • A More Perfect Heaven: How Copernicus Revolutionized the Cosmos

    By Dava Sobel

    Our Price: $8.00
    • Format: Paperback
    • ISBN-13: 9780802778949
    • Publisher: Walker & Company
    • Published: October 2012
    The best-selling author of Galileo's Daughter traces the story of the reclusive 16th-century cleric who introduced the revolutionary idea that the Earth orbits the sun, in an account that describes the dangerous forces and complicated personalities that marked the publication of Copernicus's findings. 100,000 first printing.
  • Galileo's Daughter: A Historical Memoir of Science, Faith, and Love

    By Dava Sobel

    Our Price: $8.50
    • Format: Paperback
    • ISBN-13: 9780140280555
    • Publisher: Penguin Books
    • Published: 2000
    Presents a biography of the scientist through the surviving letters of his illegitimate daughter Maria Celeste, who wrote him from the Florence convent where she lived from the age of thirteen.
  • Galileo's Daughter: A Historical Memoir of Science, Faith, and Love

    By Dava Sobel

    Our Price: $6.00
    • Format: Paperback
    • ISBN-13: 9780007635757
    • Publisher: Penguin
    • Published: January 1999
    An illuminating narrative weave of the events and circumstance of Galileo's life, from the Medici grand dukes who became his patrons to the scourge of bubonic plague that ravaged Europe; and,the harrowing, courageous story of one woman who fought through his trial and betrayal of her father's former friend, Pope Urban VII, to reconcile the celestial world Galileo revered as a devoted Catholic with the heavenshe irreversibly revealed with his telescope. B&W illus. 420p. Pap.
  • Galileo's Daughter: A Historical Memoir of Science, Faith, and Love

    By Dava Sobel

    Our Price: $10.00
    • Format: Hardcover
    • ISBN-13: 9780802713438
    • Publisher: Walker & Company
    • Published: September 1999
    The harrowing, courageous story of Galileo's daughter, Maria Celeste, a person hitherto lost to history, whose defense of her father on trial for revealing with his telescope a celestial worldthat overturned humanity's perception of its place in the cosmos, is revealed in her letters. The book illuminates the Florence of the Medicis and the papal court in Rome during a tumultuous time. Illus. 420p.
  • Galileo's Daughter: A Historical Memoir of Science, Faith, and Love

    By Dava Sobel

    Our Price: $9.00
    • Format: Paperback
    • ISBN-13: 9780802779656
    • Publisher: Walker & Company
    • Published: August 2011
    Inspired by a long fascination with Galileo, and by the remarkable surviving letters of his daughter, the cloistered nun Maria Celeste, Dava Sobel has crafted a biography that dramatically recolors the personality and accomplishments of a mythic figure whose early-seventeeenth-century clash with Catholic doctrine continues to define the schism between science and religion. Moving between Galileo's grand public life and Maria Celeste's sequestered world, Sobel illuminates the Florence of the Medicis and the papal court in Rome during the pivotal era when humanity's perception of its place in the cosmos was about to be overturned. During that same time, while the bubonic plague wreaked its terrible devastation and the Thirty Years' War tipped fortunes across Europe, Galileo sought to reconcile the Heaven he revered as a good Catholic with the heavens he revealed through his telescope.
  • Longitude: The True Story of a Lone Genius Who Solved the Greatest Scientific Problem of His Time

    By Dava Sobel

    Our Price: $6.50
    • Format: Paperback
    • ISBN-13: 9780140258790
    • Publisher: Penguin Books
    • Published: October 1996
    192p. Pap.
  • Longitude: The True Story of a Lone Genius Who Solved the Greatest Scientific Problem of His Time

    By Dava Sobel

    Our Price: $10.00
    • Format: Hardcover
    • ISBN-13: 9780802713124
    • Publisher: Walker and Company
    • Published: November 1995
    Describes the forty-year effort of John Harrison to invent the chronometer, the first instrument able to keep accurate time for navigational purposes
  • Longitude: The True Story of a Lone Genius Who Solved the Greatest Scientific Problem of His Time

    By Dava Sobel

    Our Price: $20.00
    • Format: Hardcover
    • ISBN-13: 9789111260831
    • Publisher: The Folio Society
    • Published: 2014
    With a new preface by the author.
  • Maya Lin Topologies

    By Maya Lin

    Our Price: $75.00
    • Format: Hardcover
    • Publisher: Rizzoli
    Square 4to. INSCRIBED by Maya Lin. Minor bumping to coreners of spine and boards, a little wear to d.j. in like corners. Bright copy. VG/VG.
  • Maya Lin: Topologies

    By Maya Lin

    Our Price: $45.00
    • Format: Oversize Hardcover
    • ISBN-13: 9780847846092
    • Publisher: Rizzoli
    • Published: October 2015
    The first comprehensive monograph on the acclaimed American artist and architect, known for her environmental works and memorials that distill a tranquil yet texturally rich minimalism. Maya Lin is one of the most important public artists of this century. As an architecture student at Yale, Lin designed the Vietnam Veterans Memorial as a class project, entering it in the largest design competition in American history. Her winning proposal, a V-shaped wall of black stone etched with the names of 58,000 dead soldiers, has since become the most visited memorial in the nation’s capital.This visually rich volume presents 50 projects from the last three decades that demonstrate the scope of Lin’s creative process, featuring her own sketches and drawings and linked by her ideal of making a place for individuals within the landscape. With her environmental works Storm King Wavefield, Eleven-Minute Line (Sweden), and Pin River–Yangtze (Beijing), Lin maintains a balance between art and architecture, drawing inspiration from culturally diverse sources.From the moment she entered the national spotlight with her design for the Vietnam Memorial, Lin has been proposing ways of thinking and imagining that resist categories, genres, and borders.
  • The Glass Universe: How the Ladies of the Hardvard Obersatory Took the Measure of the Stars

    By Dava Sobel

    Our Price: $15.00
    • Format: Hardcover
    • ISBN-13: 9780670016952
    • Publisher: Viking
    • Published: December 2016
  • The Illustrated Longitude

    By Dava Sobel

    Our Price: $14.00
    • Format: Oversize Paperback
    • ISBN-13: 9780802775931
    • Publisher: Walker and Company
    • Published: January 2003
    A new illustrated edition of the best-selling Longitude chronicles the tale of the eighteenth-century inventor John Harrison, who created the chronometer and, in the process, saved thousands of lives and great fortunes. Reprint.
  • The Planets

    By Dava Sobel

    Our Price: $18.00
    • Format: Paperback
    • ISBN-13: 9780142001165
    • Publisher: Penguin Books
    • Published: October 2006
    A lavishly illustrated account in the tradition of Longitude and Galileo's Daughter explores the creation and evolution of the solar system's planets through a lens of popular culture, drawing on sources from astrology, science fiction, the fine arts, and other genres to chronicle planetary history in a relevant and accessible format for lay readers. Reprint. 200,000 first printing.

View: