View:

  • Arab Spring Dreams: The Next Generation Speaks Out for Freedom and Justice from North Africa to Iran

    By Nasser Weddady

    Our Price: $20.99
    • Format: Paperback
    • ISBN-13: 9780230115927
    • Publisher: Palgrave Macmillan
    • Published: May 2012
    "During the Arab Spring, the world saw a long-suppressed group in the Middle East--young people--assert itself and demand its rights. But youthful dissent did not appear overnight; for decades it has been simmering beneath the surface in countries from Saudi Arabia to Yemen, from Iran to Egypt. In Arab Spring Dreams, a number of young Middle Easterners describe their experiences with the region's laws and cultural mores, including the crime of holding hands before marriage, discrimination and harassment over religious beliefs, and young women fighting for the right to complete their educations. They also discuss how previous uprisings, particularly the American civil rights movement of the 1960s, might be channeled to effect change in their own countries. Beautifully written and profoundly moving, these stories present a decisive call for change at a crucial point in the evolution of the Middle East"--
  • Equal Means Equal: Why the Time for an Equal Rights Amendment Is Now

    By Jessica Neuwirth

    Our Price: $7.50
    • Format: Paperback
    • ISBN-13: 9781620970393
    • Publisher: The New Press
    • Published: January 2015
    "When the Equal Rights Amendment was first passed by Congress in 1972, Richard Nixon was president and All in the Family's Archie Bunker was telling his feisty wife Edith to stifle it. Over the course of the next ten years, an initial wave of enthusiasm led to ratification of the ERA by thirty-five states, just three short of the thirty-eight states needed by the 1982 deadline. Many of the arguments against the ERA that historically stood in the way of ratification have gone the way of bouffant hairdos and Bobby Riggs, and a new Coalition for the ERA was recently set up to bring the experience and wisdom of old-guard activists together with the energy and social media skills of a new-guard generation of women. In a series of short, accessible chapters looking at several key areas of sex discrimination recognized by the Supreme Court, Equal Means Equal tells the story of the legal cases that inform the need for an ERA, along with contemporary cases in which women's rights are compromised without the protection of an ERA. Covering topics ranging from pay equity and pregnancy discrimination to violence against women, Equal Means Equal makes abundantly clear that an ERA will improve the lives of real women living in America. "--
  • Gloria Takes a Stand: How Gloria Steinem Listened, Wrote, and Changed the World

    By Gloria Steinem

    Our Price: $9.00
    • Format: Hardcover
    • ISBN-13: 9781681196763
    • Publisher: Bloomsbury Children's Books
    • Published: March 2019
    Ideal for fans of "I Dissent" comes an inspirational and empowering account of the life of women's rights icon Gloria Steinem. Full color
  • Goddesses in Everywoman: A New Psychology of Women

    By Jean Shinoda Bolen

    Our Price: $7.50
    • Format: Paperback
    • ISBN-13: 9780060912918
    • Publisher: Harper & Row, Publishers
    • Published: August 1985
  • I Never Called It Rape - Updated Edition: The Ms. Report on Recognizing, Fighting, and Surviving Date Rape

    By Robin Warshaw

    Our Price: $8.50 - $15.29
    • Format: Paperback
    • ISBN-13: 9780062844309
    • Publisher: Harper Perennial
    • Published: February 2019
  • Moving Beyond Words

    By Gloria Steinem

    Our Price: $12.00
    • Format: Hardcover
    • ISBN-13: 9780671649722
    • Publisher: Simon & Schuster
    • Published: May 1994
    A collection of essays by an influential feminist examines the state of the women's movement today and offers possibilities for the future, focusing on such issues as economic empowerment, women politicians, and life affirmation. 250,000 first printing. Major ad/promo. Tour.
  • Moving Beyond Words: Age, Rage, Sex, Power, Money, Muscles: Breaking Boundaries of Gender

    By Gloria Steinem

    Our Price: $21.95
    • Format: Paperback
    • ISBN-13: 9780671510527
    • Publisher: Simon & Schuster
    • Published: February 1995
    A collection of essays by an influential feminist examines the state of the women's movement today and offers possibilities for the future, focusing on such issues as economic empowerment, women politicians, and life affirmations
  • My Life on the Road

    By Gloria Steinem

    Our Price: $9.00 - $16.20
    • Format: Paperback
    • ISBN-13: 9780345408167
    • Publisher: Random House
    • Published: August 2016
  • Outrageous Acts and Everyday Rebellions

    By Gloria Steinem

    Our Price: $20.00
    • Format: Paperback
    • ISBN-13: 9781250204868
    • Publisher: Picador
    • Published: February 2019
  • Outrageous Acts and Everyday Rebellions (Second Edition)

    By Gloria Steinem

    Our Price: $10.00
    • Format: Paperback
    • ISBN-13: 9780805042023
    • Publisher: Owl Books / Henry Holt and Company
    • Published: October 1995
    A collection of writings includes pieces on topics ranging from love, money, food, and erotica, essays on personal experience as political revelation, and profiles of and interviews with celebrities including Marilyn Monroe and Pat Nixon.
  • Revolution from Within: A Book of Self-Esteem

    By Gloria Steinem

    Our Price: $8.00 - $14.40
    • Format: Paperback
    • ISBN-13: 9780316812474
    • Publisher: Little, Brown and Company
    • Published: January 1993
    The author investigates the most vital component of a healthy personality--self-esteem--drawing on her own experience of low self-esteem and that of such luminaries as Mahatma Gandhi
  • Surviving Intimate Terrorism

    By Hedda Nussbaum

    Our Price: $39.95
    • Format: Paperback
    • ISBN-13: 9781468086768
    • Publisher: Createspace Independent Pub
    • Published: December 2011
    Hedda Nussbaum, battered and bruised after years of domestic torture by her live-in partner, Joel Steinberg, was abruptly thrown into the public spotlight in November 1987 after Steinberg assaulted and killed their daughter, Lisa. This book tells the painful story of Hedda’s 12 years with Steinberg, how she went from quiet book editor to notorious battered woman blamed for her daughter’s death because she didn’t “get out” soon enough. But, as the title suggests, Hedda not only survived the double abuse, but grew strong in the process and went on to become an advocate for other battered women - writing and speaking, teaching women how to stay out of and/or to survive intimate terrorism. In her Prologue, Ms. Nussbaum states the book’s primary purpose: “I pray that my story be an inspiration to women to see the truth before it’s too late and to use their inner strength to save their own lives and those of their children. If this book saves just one child or one mother, I will be content. If it saves even more, I will be fulfilled.” Ms. Nussbaum is a former senior editor at Random House and the author of the children’s books Plants Do Amazing Things and Animals Build Amazing Homes.
  • The Beach Book

    By Gloria Steinem

    Our Price: $15.00
    • Format: Oversize Hardcover
    • ISBN-13: 9781499596014
    • Publisher: The Viking Press
    • Published: 1963
  • The Vagina Monologues

    By Eve Ensler

    Our Price: $6.50
    • Format: Paperback
    • ISBN-13: 9780375750526
    • Publisher: Villard
    • Published: February 1998
  • The Vagina Monologues: The V-Day Edition

    By Eve Ensler

    Our Price: $6.00
    • Format: Paperback
    • ISBN-13: 9780375756986
    • Publisher: Villard Books
    • Published: 2001
    (The V-Day Edition). A celebration of female sexuality in all its complexity and mystery - performed in cities all across America and at hundreds of college campuses - that has inspired a dynamic grassroots movement - V-Day - to stop violence against women. Eve Ensler's Obie Award-winning masterpiece gives voice to real women;s deepest fantasies and fears, guaranteeing that no one who reads it will ever look at a woman's body, or think of sex, in quite the same way again. 185p.

View: