Horns

By

Horns Mystery & Suspense
Our Price: $15.99

Product Description

The New York Times bestselling author of Heart-Shaped Box returns with a relentless supernatural thriller that runs like Hell on wheels. Merrin Williams, is dead, slaughtered under inexplicable circumstances, leaving her beloved boyfriend Ignatius Perrish as the only suspect. On the first anniversary of Merrin's murder, Ig spends the night drunk and doing awful things. When he wakes the next morning he has a thunderous hangover....and horns growing from his temples - a macabre gift he intends to use to find the monster who killed his lover. Being good and praying for the best go him nowhere. Now, it's time for revenge. 397p.

Editorial Reviews

Ignatius Perrish led a charmed life as the popular son of a wealthy and talented family and the storybook lover of the perfect Merrin Williams. Then, after high school, it all went wrong. Merrin was raped and murdered, her head bashed in, and everyone assumed Ig was the killer, even after he was exonerated. A year after Merrin's death, following a barely remembered night of debauchery, Ig awakens with a pair of three-inch horns growing from his forehead. Along with these come abilities that shock and disgust him but also bring him closer to finding Merrin's real killer. As the plot builds through flashbacks and clever exposition, Ig's true nature reveals itself, and the reader is left questioning the traditional border between good and evil. VERDICT The promising short-story writer of 20th Century Ghosts didn't quite reach the mark with his debut novel, Heart-Shaped Box, but with his sophomore effort, Hill has written a novel that is all his. Highly recommended, particularly for fans of Clive Barker and Christopher Moore. [See Prepub Alert, LJ 10/15/09; also available in ebook and HarperLuxe large-print editions.]—Karl G. Siewert, MLIS, Tulsa City-Cty. Lib.

[Page 57]. Copyright 2010 Reed Business Information.

Customer Reviews

No customers have written a review yet, write the first!